Sunday, February 7, 2010

How To Pray The Stations Of The Cross Rosary

Rosary available for purchase at

How To Pray The Stations Of The Cross Rosary

This rosary chaplet consists of 15 groups of 3 beads each, between which are medals representing the stations of the cross. An additional 6 beads are added as well as a crucifix.

This chaplet of the Way of the Cross was granted to Vincentian Order by Popes Pius IX and X. Later it was withdrawn by the Holy Office (1912), since the indulgences can be gained by using the crucifix alone.

It is somewhat of a misnomer to call this a rosary. To the sick and to others who cannot go to a church to make the Way of the Cross the Holy See has given the privilege of gaining the indulgences attached to the Way of the Cross by holding in their hand a specially indulgenced crucifix and saying the prescribed prayers.

On the Crucifix say the Apostle's Creed:
I believe in God, the Father Almighty, Creator of Heaven and earth;
and in Jesus Christ, His only Son Our Lord,
Who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the Virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried. He descended into Hell; the third day He rose again from the dead; He ascended into Heaven, and sitteth at the right hand of God, the Father almighty; from thence He shall come to judge the living and the dead. I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body and life everlasting.  Amen.

On each of the following six beads say an Act of Contrition:

O my God, my Redeemer, behold me here at Thy feet. From the bottom of my heart I am sorry for all my sins, because by them I have offended Thee, Who art infinitely good. I will die rather than offend thee again. Amen.

The following is said before each station for the intentions of the Holy Father:
We adore You, O Christ, and we bless You, because by Your holy cross You have redeemed the world.

After announcing and meditating on each Station, pray one Our Father, one Hail Mary and one Glory Be.

Our Father:
Our Father, Who art in Heaven, hallowed be Thy name; Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done on earth as it is in Heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread; and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us; and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.   Amen.

Hail Mary:
Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee, blessed art thou amongst women and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary Mother of God, pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

Glory Be:
Glory be to the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.  As it was in the beginning is now and ever shall be, world without end.  Amen.

Closing Prayer:
Lord Jesus Christ, your passion and death is the sacrifice that unites earth and heaven and reconciles all people to you.  May we who have faithfully reflected on these mysteries follow in your steps and so come to share your glory in heaven where you live and reign with the Father and the Holy Spirit one God, for ever and ever.  Amen.

The Fourteen Stations of The Cross

The First Station: Jesus is condemned to death.

The Second Station: Jesus carries His cross.

The Third Station: Jesus falls the first time.

The Fourth Station: Jesus meets His mother.

The Fifth Station: Simone of Cyrene helps Jesus carry His cross.

The Sixth Station: Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.

The Seventh Station: Jesus falls a second time.

The Eighth Station: Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem.

The Ninth Station: Jesus falls a third time.

The Tenth Station: Jesus is stripped of His garments.

The Eleventh Station: Jesus is nailed to the cross.

The Twelfth Station: Jesus dies on the cross.

The Thirteenth Station: Jesus is taken from the cross.

The Fourteenth Station: Jesus is laid in the tomb.


  1. Thank you and God Bless you for this site.

  2. Can this Chaplet have the 15th station added? Jesus rises from the tomb.
    Lord Jesus, by dying You destroyed our death.
    By rising You restored our life.
    Lord Jesus, come in glory.