Sunday, February 7, 2010

Precious Blood Chaplet

Precious Blood chaplet in red jade. 
Available for purchase at

Chaplet of the Precious Blood


The Chaplet of the Precious Blood, also known as the Precious Blood Rosary, is a meditation on the generous love of Jesus, who shed his blood for us. This devotion consists of seven mysteries in which we meditate on the seven principal sheddings of the Most precious Blood of Jesus.  The chaplet itself consists of 33 beads (six sets of five beads each and three on the drop), a rosary center and a Precious Blood medal.

The Chaplet was composed in 1809 by Francesco Albertini and officially approved in the same year. Albertini, who founded the ArchConfraternity of the Precious Blood, was the mentor and spiritual director of Saint Gaspar del Bufalo, founder of the Missionaries of the Precious Blood.

Saint Gaspar encouraged the Missionaries to pray this chaplet with the people every morning. It is an excellent way of heightening our awareness of God's presence in difficult and painful situations. It can help us connect our own suffering, the suffering of those we love, and the suffering of our enemies, with the suffering of Christ. Many people who like to pray the rosary every day pray the Precious Blood Rosary on Fridays, the day when we traditionally meditate on the Passion.

Prayer Instructions:

The Our Father without the Hail Mary is said five times after each mystery except the last, when it is said three times – in all, thirty three times in honor of the thirty-three years of Our Lord’s life on earth.

V.  O God, come to my assistance!
R.  Lord, make haste to help me!
V.  Glory be to the Father, etc.
R.  As it was in the beginning, etc.

First Mystery:
Jesus shed his blood in the circumcision.
Let us ask for chastity in body and soul.

V.  We pray you, Lord, help your servants!
R.  Whom You have redeemed with Your Precious Blood!

(This invocation to the Precious Blood is said after the Our Father and Glory be of each mystery.)

Second Mystery:
Jesus shed his blood in the agony while praying in the Garden of Olives. 
Let us ask for the spirit of prayer.

Third Mystery:
Jesus shed his blood in the scourging at the pillar. 
Let us ask for patience and self-control.

Fourth Mystery:
Jesus shed his blood in the crowning with thorns. 
Let us ask for humility to atone from pride.

Fifth Mystery:
Jesus shed his blood while carrying His cross to Calvary. 
Let us ask for acceptance of our daily crosses.

Sixth Mystery:
Jesus shed his blood in the terrible crucifixion. 
Let us ask for contrition.

Seventh Mystery:
Jesus shed blood and water from His side pierced by the lance.
Let us ask for perseverance.

How To Pray The Stations Of The Cross Rosary

Rosary available for purchase at

How To Pray The Stations Of The Cross Rosary

This rosary chaplet consists of 15 groups of 3 beads each, between which are medals representing the stations of the cross. An additional 6 beads are added as well as a crucifix.

This chaplet of the Way of the Cross was granted to Vincentian Order by Popes Pius IX and X. Later it was withdrawn by the Holy Office (1912), since the indulgences can be gained by using the crucifix alone.

It is somewhat of a misnomer to call this a rosary. To the sick and to others who cannot go to a church to make the Way of the Cross the Holy See has given the privilege of gaining the indulgences attached to the Way of the Cross by holding in their hand a specially indulgenced crucifix and saying the prescribed prayers.

On the Crucifix say the Apostle's Creed:
I believe in God, the Father Almighty, Creator of Heaven and earth;
and in Jesus Christ, His only Son Our Lord,
Who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the Virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried. He descended into Hell; the third day He rose again from the dead; He ascended into Heaven, and sitteth at the right hand of God, the Father almighty; from thence He shall come to judge the living and the dead. I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body and life everlasting.  Amen.

On each of the following six beads say an Act of Contrition:

O my God, my Redeemer, behold me here at Thy feet. From the bottom of my heart I am sorry for all my sins, because by them I have offended Thee, Who art infinitely good. I will die rather than offend thee again. Amen.

The following is said before each station for the intentions of the Holy Father:
We adore You, O Christ, and we bless You, because by Your holy cross You have redeemed the world.

After announcing and meditating on each Station, pray one Our Father, one Hail Mary and one Glory Be.

Our Father:
Our Father, Who art in Heaven, hallowed be Thy name; Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done on earth as it is in Heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread; and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us; and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.   Amen.

Hail Mary:
Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee, blessed art thou amongst women and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary Mother of God, pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

Glory Be:
Glory be to the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.  As it was in the beginning is now and ever shall be, world without end.  Amen.

Closing Prayer:
Lord Jesus Christ, your passion and death is the sacrifice that unites earth and heaven and reconciles all people to you.  May we who have faithfully reflected on these mysteries follow in your steps and so come to share your glory in heaven where you live and reign with the Father and the Holy Spirit one God, for ever and ever.  Amen.

The Fourteen Stations of The Cross

The First Station: Jesus is condemned to death.

The Second Station: Jesus carries His cross.

The Third Station: Jesus falls the first time.

The Fourth Station: Jesus meets His mother.

The Fifth Station: Simone of Cyrene helps Jesus carry His cross.

The Sixth Station: Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.

The Seventh Station: Jesus falls a second time.

The Eighth Station: Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem.

The Ninth Station: Jesus falls a third time.

The Tenth Station: Jesus is stripped of His garments.

The Eleventh Station: Jesus is nailed to the cross.

The Twelfth Station: Jesus dies on the cross.

The Thirteenth Station: Jesus is taken from the cross.

The Fourteenth Station: Jesus is laid in the tomb.