Monday, June 17, 2013

The Rosary Chaplet Of The Holy Ghost

Chaplet Of The Holy Ghost

The Chaplet of the Holy Ghost was composed in 1892 by a Franciscan Capuchin missionary of the English province in order to give the faithful an easy means of honoring the Holy Ghost.  It was approved by Pope Leo XIII in 1902.  It is intended to be in regard to the Holy Ghost what the Dominican Rosary is in regard to the Blessed Virgin.

This rosary consists of 5 groups of 7 beads each.  Before and after each group there are 2 large beads, that is, 12 large beads in all.  In addition there are 2 small beads at the beginning.  On these three beads one makes the sign of the Cross, recites an act of contrition and the hymn Come Holy Ghost.

In each group the Glory Be is said on the 7 small beads, an Our Father and a Hail Mary on the 2 large beads.  On the remaining 2 large beads are said the Apostles' Creed and an Our Father and Hail Mary for the intention of the Holy Father.

There is a mystery for each of the 5 groups; the number 5 commemorating the Five Wounds of Jesus which are the fountains of grace which the Holy Ghost imparts to all men.  The reflections suggested are as follows:

Wire-Wrapped Chaplet Of The Holy Ghost
 Available for purchase at

The First Mystery
By the Holy Ghost is Jesus conceived of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

The Meditation:  "The Holy Ghost shall come upon thee, and the Power of the Most High shall overshadow thee; and therefore also the Holy which shall be born of thee shall be called the Son of God." (Luke, I, 35)

The Practice: Diligently implore the aid of the Divine Spirit, and Mary's intercession, to imitate the virtues of Jesus Christ, Who is the Model of virtues, so that you may be made comformable to the image of the Son of God.

The Second Mystery
The Spirit of the Lord rested upon Jesus.

The Meditation: "Jesus, being baptized, forthwith came out of the water:  and lo! the heavens were opened to Him, and He saw the Spirit of God descending as a dove, and coming upon Him." (Matthew, III, 16)

The Practice: Hold in the highest esteem the priceless gift of sanctifying grace, infused into your soul by the Holy Ghost in Baptism.  Keep the promises to which you then pledged yourself.  Increase, by constant practice, Faith, Hope and Charity.  Ever live as becometh children of God and members of God's true Church, so as to obtain, hereafter, the inheritance of heaven.

The Third Mystery
By the Spirit is Jesus led into the desert.

The Meditation: "Jesus being full of the Holy Ghost, returned from the Jordan, and was led by the Spirit into the desert for the space of forty days; and was tempted by the devil."  (Luke, IV, 1-2.)

The Practice: Be ever grateful for the sevenfold gift of the Holy Ghost bestowed upon you in Confirmation, for the spirit of wisdom and understanding, of counsel and fortitude, of knowledge and piety, and of the fear of the Lord.  Faithfully yield to His Divine guidance, so that, in all the trials and temptations of life, you may act manfully, as becometh a perfect Christian and valiant soldier of Jesus Christ.

The Fourth Mystery

The Holy Ghost in the Church.

The Meditation: "Suddenly there came a sound from heaven as of a mighty wind coming, and it filled the whole house where they were sitting ... and they were all filled with the Holy Ghost, and began to speak ... the wonderful works of God."  (Acts, II, 2, 4, 11.)

The Practice: Thank God for having made you a child of His Church which is ever animated and directed by the Divine Spirit, sent into this world for the purpose on the day of Pentecost.  Hear and obey the Holy See, the infallible mouthpiece of the Holy Ghost, and the Church, the pillar and ground of truth.  Uphold her doctrines, seek her interests, defend her rights.

The Fifth Mystery
The Holy Ghost in the soul of the just man.

The Meditation: "Know you not that your members are the temple of the Holy Ghost, Who is in you?" (I Cor., VI, 19.)
"Extinguish not the Spirit." (I Thess., V, 19.)
"And grieve not the Holy Spirit of God whereby you are sealed unto the day of redemption." (Eph., IV, 30.)

The Practice: Be ever mindful of the Holy Ghost Who is within you, and carefully cultivate purity of soul and body.  Faithfully obey His Divine Inspirations so that you may bring forth the Fruits of the Spirit - Charity, Joy, Peace, Patience, Benignity, Goodness, Long-suffering, Mildness, Faith, Modesty, Continency, Chastity.

Conclude with the "I believe" as a profession of faith.

Say finally once Our Father, Hail Mary, and Glory be to the Father, for the intentions of the Sovereign Pontiff.

Source: "Twenty-Four Rosaries and Chaplets," compiled by Patrick Shaughnessy, O.S.B., S.T.D.

Monday, June 10, 2013

Pope Francis: The Papal Coat Of Arms

From The Vatican Radio - 

Pope Francis has chosen the motto "Miserando atque eligendo", meaning lowly but chosen; literally in Latin 'by having mercy, by choosing him'.

The motto is one the Pope had already chosen as Bishop. It is taken from the homilies of the Venerable Bede on Saint Matthew's Gospel relating to his vocation:"Jesus saw the tax collector and by having mercy chose him as an Apostle saying to him : Follow me."

This homily, which focuses on divine mercy and is reproduced in the Liturgy of the Hours on the Feast of Saint Matthew, has taken on special significance in the Pope's life and spiritual journey.

In fact it was on the Feast of Saint Matthew in 1953 that a young seventeen year-old Jorge Bergoglio was touched by the mercy of God and felt the call to religious life in the footsteps of Saint Ignatius of Loyola.

Beyond the motto, the coat of arms has a blue field and is surmounted by the mitre and the papal keys. On the crest itself at the centre is the symbol of the Jesuits, a flaming sun with the three letters recalling the name and the salvific mission of Jesus. Underneath we have two more symbols: to the right the star representing Mary and to the left the nard flower representing Joseph.

Pope Francis wire-wrapped rosary in black onyx available at

Source: Vatican Radio